Text size:

About NAES

Governing Board

The Governing Board provides strategic direction for and oversight of the Association’s mission, ministry, and work. The board, which is self-electing, is comprised of school leaders, clergy, and friends from throughout the community of Episcopal schools. The presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church is the honorary chair of the board. The Association’s executive director serves as an ex officio voting member. Members’ terms of service conclude June 30 of the year noted.

To send an email message to the Governing Board, please go to Contact Us.
The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori

The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori, Ph.D.
Honorary Chair
Presiding Bishop and Primate
The Episcopal Church, New York, NY
Doreen S. Oleson, Ed.D.

Doreen S. Oleson, Ed.D., President (2015)
Head of School
Saint Mark’s Episcopal School, Altadena, CA
Photo: Ned Sherrill
The Rev. Edmund K. Sherrill II, Vice President (2014)
Head of School
The Church Farm School, Exton, PA
Karan Merry

Ms. Karan A. Merry, Secretary (2015)
Head of School
St. Paul’s Episcopal School, Oakland, CA
The Rev. Michael E. Spencer

The Rev. Michael E. Spencer, Treasurer (2015)
Dean of Chapel and Religious Life
St. Paul’s School, Concord, NH
Serena E. Beeks, D.Min.

Serena E. Beeks, D.Min. (2016)
Executive Director
Commission on Schools, The Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Laurie Bottiger

Laurie Bottiger, Ph.D. (2016)
Trinity Episcopal Day School, Hartford, CT
The Rev. Alexander Breckinridge

The Rev. Alexander N. Breckinridge IV (2015)
St. Thomas Episcopal Church, Medina, WA
Tom Breidenthal
The Rt. Rev. Thomas E. Breidenthal, D.Phil. (2015)
Bishop of Southern Ohio
The Episcopal Diocese of Southern Ohio, Cincinnati, OH
Mary Ellen Christy

Mrs. Mary Ellen Christy (2014) 
St. Chrysostom’s Day School, Chicago, IL
Kirk Duncan
Mr. Kirk R. Duncan (2014)
Head of School
Washington Episcopal School, Bethesda, MD
D. DuBose Egleston, Jr.
Mr. D. DuBose Egleston, Jr. (2015)
Head of School
Porter-Gaud School, Charleston, SC

Monica M. Gillespie, Ph.D. (2016)
Head of School
Saint Mary's School, Raleigh, NC
Preston Hannibal

The Rev. Preston B. Hannibal (2014)
Washington National Cathedral, Washington, DC
Susan Harriss

The Rev. Canon Susan C. Harriss (2015)
Christ's Church, Rye, NY
Ed Kim

Mr. Edward Kim (2016)
Head of School
Breck School, Minneapolis, MN
Silvia Larrauri

Ms. Silvia Larrauri (2015)
Head of School
St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School, Coconut Grove, FL
Ned Smith

Mr. C. Edward Smith (2014)
Episcopal High School, Bellaire, TX
John Taylor

The Rev. Canon John H. Taylor (2016)
St. John Chrysostom Episcopal Church
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
The Rev. Daniel R. Heischman, D.D.

The Rev. Daniel R. Heischman, D.D.
Executive Director
National Association of Episcopal Schools, New York, NY