Text size:


Award Winners

NAES ShieldThe Ruth Jenkins Award and the John D. Verdery Award are NAES’ highest honors and recognize and celebrate the outstanding service of individuals to Episcopal schools. NAES is honored to present these awards to The Rev. Canon Preston B. Hannibal and Doreen S. Oleson!

These awards will be presented during the awards luncheon on Thursday, November 8 at 12pm. Keynote speaker for the event will be Mona Delahooke, Ph.D.

The Rev. Canon Preston B. Hannibal

John D. Verdery Award Recipient

Preston HannibalThe Rev. Canon Preston B. Hannibal retired in July 2016 as Associate for Pastoral Care at Washington National Cathedral. Prior to joining the cathedral staff he served as Canon for Academic Ministries in the Episcopal Diocese of Washington. 

For the past 14 years, chief among his commitments has been the growth and development of The Bishop John T. Walker School for Boys. Its mission and ministry is to serve the boys of traditionally underserved Washington, DC communities who would not ordinarily have a chance to attend a school of its caliber. 

Hannibal has served as chaplain and chair of the religion department at St. Mark’s School in Southborough, MA, as a chaplain at St. Paul's School, Concord, NH, as Associate Minister in the Memorial Church at Harvard University and Chaplain to Harvard College, and as an interim chaplain at Episcopal High School in Alexandria, VA. 

He has served on several governing boards, including those of NAES and MAESA. He currently serves on the governing boards of the Bishop John T. Walker School for Boys in Washington, DC, Church Farm School in Exton, PA, St. Mark's School in Southborough, MA, and the Church Schools in the Diocese of Virginia Board of Trustees.

Doreen S. Oleson, Ed.D.

Ruth Jenkins Award Recipient

136E10000015E.filename.DoreenOleson-150wDoreen Oleson served Saint Mark’s School, an Episcopal Parish Day School in Altadena, CA as head of school for twenty-five years and retired in June, 2015. That same year, she was also the recipient of the 2015 National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) Diversity Leadership Award. 

She served as the president of the governing board of the National Association of Episcopal Schools, was trustee of the National Association of Independent Schools, was president of the California Association of Independent Schools’ board of directors, served on the National Commission on Accreditation, was chair of the Commission on Schools for the Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles and was a field instructor at the Klingenstein Center, Teachers College. 

Dr. Oleson currently is a senior search consultant at Resource Group 175, coaches aspiring school leaders, and belongs to organizations and boards which support education and community service learning.

About the Awards

Ruth JenkinsThe Ruth Jenkins Award honors a founder of NAES who was head of Annie Wright Schools in Tacoma, Washington, and the Bishop’s School in La Jolla, California. An advocate for women’s leadership in the Episcopal Church, Dr. Jenkins was elected in 1949 as a deputy to the Church’s General Convention but refused her seat. She subsequently participated in the "Joint Commission to Consider the Problems of Giving the Women of the Church a Voice in the Legislation of the General Convention" (1951), and later served as a deputy.

The John D. Verdery Award is named in honor of the long-term headmaster (1942–1976) of Wooster School in Danbury, Connecticut. A co-founder of NAES, Mr. Verdery, an Episcopal priest, was an articulate advocate for the value of Episcopal education and the religious identity of our schools. As president of the NAES Governing Board, he was instrumental in nurturing NAES as an organization through his hands-on leadership at critical points during the Association’s early years.