Text size:

NAES Community

Network of Episcopal School Chaplains

The Network of Episcopal School Chaplains (NESC) is a peer-to-peer network of ordained and lay Episcopal school chaplains and ordained Episcopal clergy serving as chaplains in independent schools. Its mission is to foster a community of support, formation, and encouragement.

NESC collaborates with and advises the National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES) to offer opportunities for new and experienced chaplains for refreshment, recreation, spiritual renewal, and mutual growth. It advocates for the vocation of school chaplaincy, shares resources for ministry, and encourages and supports local networks of chaplains.


How Do I Get Involved?

Join the “Network of Episcopal School Chaplains” Facebook Group

This is currently the Network’s primary gathering place and communication tool. A closed group, your request to join will be approved by one of its administrators.

  • Log-into your Facebook account.
  • Search for "Network of Episcopal School Chaplains" or click here.
  • Request to join the group.

Participate in Conversations

NESC relies on active and engaged members! Share your questions and resources with the Facebook group and leave replies for others.

Contribute Your Expertise

NESC is currently organizing a task force of chaplains and Episcopal school technologists to explore online options for resource-sharing. If you are interested in participating or have someone to recommend, please email the Rev. Lisa Barrowclough, NESC Co-Convener.


Structure and Organization

NESC' organizational structure consists of two volunteer Co-Conveners and a volunteer Advisory Group, all of whom are current Episcopal school chaplains. This group engages Network members as broadly and fully as possible, guides specific goals or projects forward, and serves as liaisons to NAES.

Convener

The Rev. Lisa Barrowclough. D.Min.
Episcopal Day School, Augusta GA
lbarrowclough@edsaugusta.com

Advisory Group (in formation)

Ms. Ashley Brandon
St. Andrew's Episcopal School, Austin, TX
abrandon@sasaustin.org

The Rev. Preston Hannibal
Episcopal High School, Alexandria, TX
pbhannibal48@gmail.com

The Rev. Joshua Hill
The Episcopal School of Knoxville, Knoxville TN
hill@esknoxville.org

Mr. Tim Kennedy
Washington Episcopal School, Bethesda MD
tkennedy@w-e-s.org

The Rev. Annie Pierpoint Mertz
St. Paul's Episcopal School, Oakland, CA
amertz@spes.org

The Rev. Timothy Somers Seamans
Holy Innocents' Episcopal School, Atlanta GA
timothy.seamans@gmail.com

The Rev. Dorothy A. White
St. Catherine's School, Richmond, VA
dwhite@st.catherines.org

» NAES Chaplains & Teachers of Religion Page