Text size:

About NAES


The Ruth Jenkins Award and the John D. Verdery Award are the National Association of Episcopal Schools’ highest honors and recognize and celebrate the outstanding service of individuals to Episcopal schools and NAES. The awards are bestowed at the discretion and by vote of the Governing Board and are presented during ceremonies at our Biennial Conference.

Ruth Jenkins Award

Ruth Jenkins

The Ruth Jenkins Award honors a founder of NAES who was head of Annie Wright Schools in Tacoma, Washington, and the Bishop’s School in La Jolla, California. An advocate for women’s leadership in the Episcopal Church, Dr. Jenkins was elected in 1949 as a deputy to the Church’s General Convention but refused her seat. She subsequently participated in the "Joint Commission to Consider the Problems of Giving the Women of the Church a Voice in the Legislation of the General Convention" (1951), and later served as a deputy.


  • 2018 – Doreen S. Oleson Ed.D.
  • 2016 – Cynthia C. LaPorte
  • 2014 – Laura C. Walker
  • 2012 – Canon Merrily Dunlap
  • 2010 – Rena H. DuBose
  • 2008 – Gloria H. Snyder
  • 2006 – Serena E. Beeks; Laurie B. Hogen
  • 2004 – The Rev. George E. Andrews II
  • 2002 – Ann Gordon
  • 2000 – The Rev. John E. Merchant; The Rev. William S. Wade
  • 1998 – Lucy C. Nazro
  • 1996 – The Rev. John Paul Carter
  • 1993 – The Rev. Canon David R. Forbes; Ruth Jenkins

John D. Verdery Award

John Verdery

The John D. Verdery Award is named in honor of the long-term headmaster (1942–1976) of Wooster School in Danbury, Connecticut. A co-founder of NAES, Mr. Verdery, an Episcopal priest, was an articulate advocate for the value of Episcopal education and the religious identity of our schools. As president of the NAES Governing Board, he was instrumental in nurturing NAES as an organization through his hands-on leadership at critical points during the Association’s early years.


  • 2018 – The Rev. Canon Preston B. Hannibal
  • 2016 – David H. Charlton, Ed.D.; David J. Schnabel, CAE
  • 2014 – The Rev. Peter G. Cheney
  • 2012 – The Rev. P. Roger Bowen, D.D.
  • 2010 – The Rev. Richardson W. Schell
  • 2008 – The Rev. Canon Thomas G. Clarke
  • 2006 – The Rev. Daniel R. Heischman, D.D.
  • 2004 – The Rev. Deacon Frances C. Kay; Karen O. Strimple; Donn D. Wright
  • 2002 – Russell W. Ingersoll, Connie R. Wootton
  • 2000 – Robert D. Klarsch; Joyce D. Jurik; Jody Parsons-Prichard; The Rev. Canon William P. Scheel; Isabelle Schuessler; The Rev. Canon Ernest D. Sillers; The Rev. Brinton W. Woodward, Jr.