The Governing Board

The Governing Board provides strategic direction for and oversight of the Association’s mission, ministry, and work. The board, which is self-electing, is comprised of school leaders, clergy, and friends from throughout the community of Episcopal schools. The presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church is the honorary chair of the board. The Association’s executive director serves as an ex officio voting member. Members’ terms of service conclude June 30 of the year noted.

To send an email message to the Governing Board, please go to Contact Us.

Looking for the Governing Board resources page? NAES board click here.

The Most Rev. Michael B. Curry, Honorary Chair
Presiding Bishop and Primate
The Episcopal Church

Edward Kim, President (2021)
Head of School
St. Matthew’s Parish School, Pacific Palisades, CA

Silvia Larrauri, Vice President (2021)
Head of School
St. Stephen’s Episcopal Day School, Coconut Grove, FL

The Rev. Michael E. Spencer, Secretary (2021)
Vice Rector for Faculty
St. Paul’s School, Concord, NH

D. DuBose Egleston, Jr., Treasurer (2021)
Head of School
Porter-Gaud School, Charleston, SC  

The Rt. Rev. Laura J. Ahrens, D.Min. (2022)
Bishop Suffragan
The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut

Paul A. Barton (2022)
Head of School
Holy Innocents’ Episcopal School, Atlanta, GA

Rex W. Bates (2023)
Director of Business Development
Annie Wright Schools, Tacoma, WA

Meredyth M. Cole (2022)
Head of School
The Lovett School, Atlanta, GA 

Cynthia Gibbs-Wilborn (2024)
Head of School
Beauvoir, The National Cathedral Elementary School
Washington, DC

Canon A. Burns Jones (2021) 
Cathedral School for Boys, San Francisco, CA

Mr. Byron M. Lawson Jr. (2022) 
Head of School
Trinity Preparatory School, Winter Park, FL

William N. Moseley (2022)
Head of School
St. Margaret’s Episcopal School, San Juan Capistrano, CA

Sean Murphy (2021)
Austin, TX

Lawrence Sampleton (2022)
Associate Head of School for Enrollment Management and Financial Aid
St. Stephen’s Episcopal School, Austin, TX

The Venerable Faye Somers (2022)
Lower School Chaplain
Saint Andrew’s School, Boca Raton, FL

Dana Toedtman (2023)
Governing Board Chair
St. Thomas’ Preschool, Fort Washington, PA

The Rev. Julia E. Whitworth (2021)
Trinity Episcopal Church, Indianapolis, IN

The Rev. Mauricio Wilson, D.Min. (2023)
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Oakland, CA

The Rev. Daniel R. Heischman, D.D. (ex officio)
Executive Director
National Association of Episcopal Schools