Doreen Oleson Elected Governing Board President; Ned Sherrill, Karan Merry, and Michael Spencer Elected as Officers

New York, NY—The National Association of Episcopal Schools is pleased to announce the election of Doreen S. Oleson, Ed.D., as Governing Board president, effective July 1, 2011. Dr. Oleson has been head of school at Saint Mark’s Episcopal School, Altadena, CA, since 1990 and a Governing Board member since July 2009.

"I am grateful to my colleagues on the Governing Board for the trust and confidence they have shown me in electing me to this position," said Dr. Oleson. "I look forward to leading the Governing Board in its examination of and strategic thinking about the role, mission, and ministry of NAES with, to, and on behalf of Episcopal schools and education."

"I look forward to a fruitful collaboration with Doreen and all the incoming officers in their new roles on behalf of our schools," said the Rev. Daniel R. Heischman, NAES executive director. "Their commitment to the Association is outstanding and I believe that their thoughtful leadership will advance NAES in new and productive ways."

Other Governing Board officers elected for the 2011-2012 school year are:

Photo: Doreen Oleson Photo: Ned Sherrill

Photo: Karan Merry Photo: Michael Spencer

The National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES) is an independently incorporated, voluntary membership organization that supports, serves, and advocates for the vital work and ministry of those who serve over 1,200 Episcopal schools, early childhood education programs, and school establishment efforts throughout the Episcopal Church. Chartered in 1965, with historic roots dating to the 1930s, NAES is the only pre-collegiate educational association that is both national in scope and Episcopal in character. The Association advances Episcopal education and strengthens Episcopal schools through essential services, resources, conferences, and networking opportunities on Episcopal school identity, leadership, and governance, and on the spiritual and professional development of school leaders.