National Association of Episcopal Schools Welcomes New and Returning Governing Board Members

New York, NY—The National Association of Episcopal Schools is pleased to announce the election of four new members and the reelection of three current members to the Governing Board, effective July 1, 2011.

The Rev. Alexander N. Breckinridge IV, Medina, WA; L. Hamilton Clark, Jr., Newtown Square, PA; the Rev. Canon Preston B. Hannibal, Washington, DC; and C. Edward Smith, Bellaire, TX bring a wealth of experience to the Governing Board as its new members.

They join three returning Governing Board members: Mary Ellen Christy, headmistress of St. Chrysostom’s Day School, Chicago, IL; Kirk R. Duncan, the new head of school at Washington Episcopal School, Bethesda, MD; and the Rev. Edmund K. Sherrill II, head of school at CFS, The School at Church Farm, Exton, PA.

"I am thrilled to welcome Lex, Ham, Preston, and Ned to the Governing Board," said Doreen S. Oleson, Ed.D., incoming president of the Governing Board and head of school at Saint Mark’s Episcopal School, Altadena, CA. "By virtue of their current and past roles in our schools, they, together with Mary Ellen, Kirk, and Ned, will offer a variety of important perspectives as the Governing Board considers the future direction of Association’s mission and ministry."

"I am grateful to Lex, Ham, Preston, Ned, Mary Ellen, Kirk, and Ned for their willingness to offer their leadership to the Association," said the Rev. Daniel R. Heischman, D.Min., executive director of NAES. "NAES is entering new and exciting phase of its life, and I look forward to working with them in realizing the Association’s potential."

Photo: Lex Breckinridge Photo: Ham Clark

The Rev. Alexander N. Breckinridge IV
Fr. Breckinridge is rector of St. Thomas Episcopal Church and School in Medina, WA. Prior to his appointment at St. Thomas, he was upper school chaplain at St. Andrew’s Episcopal School, Austin, TX (2005-2009), an assistant at St. Michael’s Episcopal Church, Austin, TX, and an attorney.

L. Hamilton Clark, Jr.
Mr. Clark has been head of school at The Episcopal Academy, Newtown Square, PA since 2002. Prior to is current position, he was head of school at Sewickley Academy, Pittsburgh, PA for fifteen years. He began his career in secondary education at Pomfret School in Connecticut and went on to work at Buckingham, Browne & Nichols School in Cambridge, MA and the International School in Zurich, Switzerland.


Photo: Preston Hannibal Photo: Ned Smith

The Rev. Canon Preston B. Hannibal
Canon Hannibal is canon for academic ministries in the Diocese of Washington. He previously served as senior chaplain and chair of the religion department at St. Mark’s School, Southborough, MA (1995-2003). He was associate minister at Memorial Chapel, Harvard University (1986-1995) and assistant chaplain at St. Paul’s School, Concord, NH (1974-1986).

C. Edward Smith
Mr. Smith is head of school at Episcopal High School, Bellaire, TX. A graduate of Groton School, he began his career as a teacher and then administrator at Harvard-Westlake School, North Hollywood, CA. He came to Episcopal High School in 2007 from St. Paul Academy and Summit School, St. Paul, MN, where served the head of two different divisions.


The National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES) is an independently incorporated, voluntary membership organization that supports, serves, and advocates for the vital work and ministry of those who serve over 1,200 Episcopal schools, early childhood education programs, and school establishment efforts throughout the Episcopal Church. Chartered in 1965, with historic roots dating to the 1930s, NAES is the only pre-collegiate educational association that is both national in scope and Episcopal in character. The Association advances Episcopal education and strengthens Episcopal schools through essential services, resources, conferences, and networking opportunities on Episcopal school identity, leadership, and governance, and on the spiritual and professional development of school leaders.